Built from 1031 onwards on the site of a Merovingian chapel, this Gothic church was consecrated in 1053 by the Alsatian Pope Leo IX. A former collegiate church, visitors can still see the base of the bell tower/porch and a number of walls from the original Romanesque building. Don’t miss: its 14th century frescoes, its tribune and its cloister where the remains of columns dating from the 11th century can still be admired.
No admission charge. Cannot be visited during services on Sunday morning.
Guided visits previous request by calling 03 88 32 41 61.
|Type of place|